Lasting powers of attorney (LPAs) meet the needs of those who can see a time ahead when they will not be able to look after their own personal and financial affairs and wish to nominate one or more people to act on their behalf.

Lasting Power of Attorney (LPA) is a legal document that lets you (the ‘donor’) appoint one or more people (known as ‘attorneys’) to help you make decisions or to make decisions on your behalf.

This gives you more control over what happens to you if, for example, you have an accident or an illness and can’t make decisions at the time they need to be made (you ‘lack mental capacity’).

You must be 18 or over and have mental capacity – the ability to make your own decisions – when you make your LPA.

There are 2 types of LPA:

  • health and welfare
  • property and financial affairs

You can choose to make one type or both.

Full details of how to choose, appoint, register, certify and change a LPA are available from GOV.UK.

Further information on LPA's is available at the following links:

A comprehensive guide "Power of Attorney" is available at this link.

If you found this useful please share it

Start typing and press Enter to search

Shopping Cart