A Key Stage is a stage of the state education system in England, setting the educational knowledge expected of students at various ages as defined by the National Curriculum.

The National Curriculum is divided into four Key Stages that children are taken through their school life and sets out targets to be achieved in various subject areas at each of the Key Stages 1 - 4 which are compulsory.

Full details of the key stages are available from GOV.UK at the following links:

Further Education - OPTIONAL

Stage 5   Age 16-18    Year 12-13   Sixth form secondary/Further Education  college

The minimum age at which a young person can leave learning is explained at this link.

You can leave school at 16 if you participate in one of the following:

  • an apprenticeship
  • a traineeship
  • full-time education, such as school, college or home education
  • part-time education or training if they are employed, self-employed or volunteering full-time.

So, in other words, after finishing GSCEs, there is now a choice between going to take A-levels and/or vocational qualifications, or alternatively participating in a traineeships or extended work experience.

Full details of further education options is avaialble at MAG Further Education section.

If you found this useful please share it

Start typing and press Enter to search

Shopping Cart