Disability Premiums are additional amounts that are included in some means-tested benefits to help with the cost of disability.

If you receive Income Support or Income-based Jobseeker’s Allowance (JSA) you may be entitled to Disability Premiums.

To qualify for a disability premium with Income Support, you or your partner must be under pension credit age and either registered blind or in receipt of certain other benefits.

If you don’t qualify, you may still get the premium if you’ve been unable to work for at least a year.

There are three categories of disability premiums for working age adults. If you are under the age when you qualify for Pension Credit you may be entitled to:

  • Disability Premium
  • Enhanced Disability Premium
  • Severe Disability Premium

If you are Pension Credit age you may be entitled to:

  • Severe Disability Premium

Full details of eligibilty, how to claim, which Disability Premiums and how much you might receive are available at GOV.UK.

Additional information on Disability Premiums are available at the following links:

Benefit Cap

Disability Premiums are paid with your normal benefit, into your existing acceptable account every two weeks.

Disablement Allowance counts towards the Benefit Cap. Your Housing Benefit may go down to make sure that the total amount of benefit you get isn’t more than the cap level.

For details on the Benefit Cap follow this link.

If you found this useful please share it

Start typing and press Enter to search

Shopping Cart